top of page
Search
  • grantwmarshall

Making Strides

In my last visit with my mentor Cody, we reviewed a chord progression that I had written throughout the duration of the time in which we were locked up in our houses thanks to the snowfall and ice in the roads. Cody was quite impressed with the progression that I had written, and I was very proud. I put a lot of effort into making it feel interesting and dynamic, while eliciting some sort of emotion. I had a wonderful time writing it; chord progressions are especially fun for me, specifically because I enjoy bending the rules of music theory and making something interesting.

Cody gave me a great deal of help with making the progression more playable, because, prior to the meeting, the chord shapes that I came up with were very physically demanding and would be practically impossible to play in a live-performance situation. As we explored chord shapes, Cody and I experimented with different chord voicings, meaning the layout of the notes is different. As the lesson neared an end, we established a strong and catchy progression with great playability and a wonderful start to a chorus section. I am beyond excited to see the song come to fruition.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Done!

Wow! What a year it has been! It is hard to describe the emotions I am feeling right now: Its all a mix of relief, sadness, growth and reflection. This year in ISM I found out what hard work means; I

Speech Tomorrow!

The day has finally come! In all honesty, I am feeling very calm about the whole situation. I know that my presentation will be a success because I have a passion for the topic and because of my exte

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page