top of page
Search
  • grantwmarshall

Making Good Time

As of last week, I have begun recording, producing and mixing my second song. Now that I have realized the faults that I made in the process of the first song, and also learned more about the software itself and the recording and producing process, I will be able to complete this song and the third song much faster. From my first song, much of what I learned involved what is important during the recording process and mixing process. The most influential thing that I learned was the necessity of getting the recording right first, rather than attempting to fix it in the production and mixing phase. It is much easier to rerecord a track ten times than spend hours upon hours trying to recreate the right sound on a computer screen. In a word, the importance of practicing the pieces of the song to mastery is paramount throughout the process, and while it seems annoying at the time, it is key to saving time later in the process and ending with a song that you are satisfied with. Along with this, I learned about the use of EQ, which allows a producer to single out (or remove) certain frequencies of a track (i.e the bass) in order to balance out a song.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Done!

Wow! What a year it has been! It is hard to describe the emotions I am feeling right now: Its all a mix of relief, sadness, growth and reflection. This year in ISM I found out what hard work means; I

Speech Tomorrow!

The day has finally come! In all honesty, I am feeling very calm about the whole situation. I know that my presentation will be a success because I have a passion for the topic and because of my exte

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page