top of page
Search
  • grantwmarshall

Listening to Music

As our time in ISM has lengthened, and as my exposure to the ins and outs of music production has grown, I have began to notice that the way I listen to music has changed quite drastically. Before I started this learning process, I listened to music in a way that was quite ignorant, in the sense that I only got from it a sense of enjoyment or relaxation or emotional release. Nowadays, music seems to pull itself apart. I notice things like rhythm, basslines, texture, metric modulation and other musical devices that I have learned about from my mentor Cody as well as from my own research. While it feels unusual, it is a fun and interesting way to enjoy one of my favorite things, which is listening to new music. All in all, as I listen to new sorts of music, I am learning more about music production and the techniques that are being used, as well as those that have been successful in the past. It also makes the learning process much more enjoyable for my year in ISM; all I have to do is listen to music! As can be seen by several of my ISM assessments, the actual process of analysis is also very yielding of information, such as emotional release tactics or music theory techniques.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Done!

Wow! What a year it has been! It is hard to describe the emotions I am feeling right now: Its all a mix of relief, sadness, growth and reflection. This year in ISM I found out what hard work means; I

Speech Tomorrow!

The day has finally come! In all honesty, I am feeling very calm about the whole situation. I know that my presentation will be a success because I have a passion for the topic and because of my exte

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page