top of page
Search
  • grantwmarshall

Having fun

In class today I spent about an hour and a half or so working on a mix for the first song of my Extended Play for this year's Final Product. I had a whole corner of the room to myself, and I was having a lot of fun, which is a new feeling for me in a school setting. I felt relaxed and had a wonderful time experimenting with the song and and all of its parts.

Over the break, I had a three hour mentor meeting/session with Cody at Neighborhood Arts and Music School. During this session, we recorded a number of audio tracks for the first song on the EP. These audio tracks will be edited heavily in the future, but for now they will suffice. Cody taught me several recording techniques and provided me with a great deal of advice regarding the workflow of the studio and how a producer would usually go about the recording and production process. For example, Cody showed me that using two different guitars to record a guitar track creates a greater sense of depth within the song and makes the listening experience more enjoyable. This is because our ears naturally pick up on the small subtleties of each recording. While out of town, I wrote some lyrics and transcribed a number of songs. Transcribing songs allows musicians to pick apart a song to find its most basic parts, thereby showing them how a certain sound/emotion is created.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

All Done!

Wow! What a year it has been! It is hard to describe the emotions I am feeling right now: Its all a mix of relief, sadness, growth and reflection. This year in ISM I found out what hard work means; I

Speech Tomorrow!

The day has finally come! In all honesty, I am feeling very calm about the whole situation. I know that my presentation will be a success because I have a passion for the topic and because of my exte

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page